Why do you need my location data at all times?

We are NOT tracking or using your actual location. We need a way to “wake up” Vivace so that it can upload your most recent step counts to the server. Apple iOS silently terminates apps running in the background, and one f the only consistent ways to re-activate an app is to have iOS notice if you’ve moved more than 30 meters. Giving Vivace “Always” permission for Location Services enables this.